Using the Cancelled / Closed Absence Report

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2017 07:21AM EST

Deleted Absences

Where did that absence go? Ever wonder where all those cancelled and closed absences go when they get deleted? Maybe you deleted the absence by mistake and you need those important details. The "Cancelled/Closed Absences Report" is here to save the day!

You can get to this report by going to Reports > Absence > Cancelled/Closed Absences.



What is the difference between cancelled and closed?
  • Cancelled: if the absence was cancelled by an Administrator (organization user or campus user), it will read cancelled. If the absence is cancelled by an employee, while it is unfilled, it will be marked as cancelled.
  • Closed: the employee cancelled their absence, while a substitute was in the assignment. Only when an employee cancels a filled absence will it be marked as Closed.
At the top of the report, you have a number of options. If you know the start date of the absence, filter this by date. You can also filter this by employee or substitute. Once you have made your selections, click the Submit button.



Once you have found your absence, you can find out more details by clicking the confirmation number. You will then be brought to a screen that says the "Absence is not found".  Don’t worry! All the information can be found in the "Absence/Vacancy Log" tab. From here, you will be able to see all the activity that the absence has undergone including the date of cancellation, the method, the reason for the cancellation, and who cancelled it.



In some cases, an absence may get deleted due to the creation of a Closed or In-Service day. Consider referencing this article to learn more about restoring that absence. In other instances, an individual may cancel/close an absence manually. If this occurs, please contact our support team to have it undeleted. All the team requires is the confirmation number!